Music by György Ligeti, John Cage, Luca Francesconi, Petr Kotik, Carolyn Chen, and Alex Mincek

With pianists Daan Vanderwalle and Joseph Kubera and virtuoso violinist Hana Kotková

A program of rarely-performed 20th-century classics as well as exciting world premieres by up-and-coming composers.

The evening will feature:
* György Ligeti‘s Concerto for Piano with acclaimed Belgian soloist Daan Vanderwalle

* John Cage‘s Concert for Piano with long-time Cage’s collaborator, Joseph Kubera

* N.Y premiere of Luca Francesconi’s Riti neurali with virtuoso Czech violinist Hana Kotková

* World premieres of Carolyn Chen’s Wilder Shores of Love and Alex Mincek’s Pendulum #7

* Petr Kotik’s In Four Parts, 3, 6 & 11 (for John Cage)

Both Petr Kotik and Joseph Kubera worked and performed with Cage several years until his death in 1992, and are considered some of the most “authentic” performers of his music. Kubera is the only pianist alive today who performed with Cage as a member of the Cunningham Dance Company. Kotik’s history with the work began in 1964 when he performed it in Prague with Cage and David Tudor. The Zankel performance will mark a rare occasion the work is performed with full orchestra.

April 13, 2011, 7:30 pm

Judy and Arthur Zankel Hall at Carnegie Hall
881 Seventh avenue, NYC

ONLY $15 Admission / $10 Friends of SEM and students

The Box Office is located at 57th Street and Seventh Avenue
Open Monday-Saturday, 11 a.m.-6 p.m., Sunday, 12 p.m.-6 p.m.
CarnegieCharge: 212-247-7800 from 8 a.m.-8 p.m. /

Call 718-488-7659 or visit

In addition to the Zankel Hall concert, Ostravská banda will celebrate the release of their double CD, Ostravská banda on Tour (Mutable Music Rcords) on Friday, April 15 at 7 p.m. at the Bohemian National Hall (Czech Center, 321 E. 73ed Street, NYC). The event will include a brief presentation of the 2011 Ostrava Days – the biennial new music summer institute where the ensemble was created – followed by works by former and upcoming Ostrava Days residents. For more information, visit or

Comments are closed.