Iktus Percussion performs works for amplified triangle and 100 metronomes, among other instruments, by Ron Ford, Michel Van der Aa, Hugo Morales Murguia, and Gyorgy Ligeti.

Ensemble MAE will return for a second night to perform work by other composers, including Robert Ashley’s “in memoriam … Esteban Gomez.”

www.iktuspercussion.com ::::: www.ensemble-mae.com

7:30pm, Issue Project Room at 110 Livingston: $20 general admission, $15 for members

Based in New York City, Iktus Percussion is an ambitious, dynamic young ensemble committed to expanding the boundaries of the percussion genre. Iktus is a collective-based operation, featuring an array of industrious and multi-talented percussionists with Chris Graham, Justin Wolf, Nick Woodbury, Steve Sehman, and Cory Bracken at the core. As a group with strong ties to the local artistic community, Iktus is dedicated to collaboration with emerging artists, having commissioned over fifty new works for percussion from such composers as Angélica Negrón, Aaron Siegel, Lisa R. Coons, Jenny Olivia Johnson, Stefan Weisman, and Billy Martin (of Medeski, Martin and Wood), among others.

With an exciting and diverse range of repertoire, Iktus has performed at such venues and festivals as the Bang on A Can Marathon, Galapagos Arts Space, Le Poisson Rouge, Issue Project Room, Symphony Space, and Trinity Church. Iktus has been appointed to several residencies including SUNY Purchase College (where they performed Laura Kaminsky’s Terra Terribilis, a concerto for percussion quartet and orchestra), CUNY Brooklyn College, and the Pre-College music program at Stony Brook University. As performer-educators, Iktus has also hosted master classes to various enthusiastic elementary school audiences. Community outreach and public performance is an essential aspect of Iktus’ mission: in September of 2011, Iktus performed an exciting all-percussion outdoor concert in Fort Greene Park, including works by Steve Reich, Julia Wolfe, and Iannis Xenakis.

In the Spring of 2010, Iktus was selected as a Time Out New York Critic’s Pick: Top Ten Concert of the Year, and received critical acclaim from the New York Times for their performance with the St. Petersburg Chamber Symphony in Symphony Space’s “Wall to Wall” series: Music of the Soviet ERA.

Iktus is endorsed by Mike Balter Mallets, Grover Pro Percussion and Paiste Cymbals.

Since 1980 the Dutch Ensemble MAE, formerly known as the Maarten Altena Ensemble, has developed itself from an improvisation collective into an ensemble that explores new musical and multidisciplinary territories. Straddling a broad spectrum of experimental traditions, the ensemble has built up a repertoire of over 150 works written for its particular instrumentation by composers such as founder Maarten Altena, Robert Ashley, Richard Ayres, Allison Cameron, Jack Body, Alvin Curran, Guus Janssen, Yannis Kyriakides, Martijn Padding, Steve Martland, Solex, Paul Termos, and has collaborated on projects with guest musicians such as Derek Bailey, Anthony Braxton, Misha Mengelberg, Roscoe Mitchell, Butch Morris, and John Zorn.

20 LP’s and CD’s have been published on labels such as X-OR, hatHUT, Claxon, Philips, Donemus, Attacca, nato and Unknown Public and performed in Japan, USA, Canada, Russia, Mexico, Germany, France, Italy, Spain, Finland, Swiss, Austria, England, Sweden, Czech Republic, Belgium, Hungary and of course extensively in its country of residence, the Netherlands.

The idiosyncratic line-up of the ensemble reflects this eclecticism being made up of 9 musicians from many different backgrounds; early music, new music, pop, jazz, and improvisation and electronics; bringing their specialities together in a refreshing and original way.

Under the new artistic leadership of Yannis Kyriakides, the focus has shifted to a deeper exploration of the possibilities of expanding the sound world of an acoustic ensemble through live electronics and a desire to experiment with the way music is experienced through new performance contexts and the use of digital media. Future collaborations include an exploration of the psychoacoustic musical traditions of Alvin Lucier and Nic Collins, work with electronic composers fransisco lopez and John Wall, exploration of video narrative forms with John Oswald and Yannis Kyriakides and always the introduction of a new generation of composers, both established and lesser-known that share the ensemble’s goal of exploring new territories of musical practice.

Comments are closed.