Jacaranda music present the U.S. premiere of acclaimed French composer Eric Tanguy’s “Trio,” works by Claude Debussy to honor his sesquicentennial, and a string octet uniting Los Angeles’ two most accomplished classical music foursomes, the Calder Quartet and Lyris Quartet.
Tanguy, the most frequently performed living French composer in Europe, will attend the premiere of his “Trio.”
The Debussy works include his famous 1913 flute solo, “Syrinx,” and his rarely performed 1901 setting of “Chanson de Bilitis,” featuring French actress Clara Bellar reciting poems, and the Romantic string “Octet” by Georges Enesco, uniting the Calder Quartet and Lyris Quartet.

8 p.m. at the First Presbyterian Church of Santa Monica, 1220 Second Street, Santa Monica, CA 90401. Concert tickets, $40 general; $20 students: jacarandamusic.org. Information: (213) 483-0216.
Nov. 17, 2012: SEDUCTION, 8 p.m.

Claude Debussy:
–Syrinx (1913), flute
–Chansons de Bilitis (1901), récitant, two flutes, two harps, celesta
Eric Tanguy: Trio (U.S. Premiere), piano, violin, cello

Georges Enesco: Octet for strings (1900) double string quartet

Comments are closed.