Saturday, October 27, 2012, 7:30 PM
St. Bartholomew’s Church, 325 Park Avenue at 51st St
Tickets available through the St. Bart’s Box Office
Information and Preview Video:
The Argento Chamber Ensemble and The College of New Jersey Chorale will perform all surviving fragments of Mozart’s unfinished Requiem linked together by composer Georg Friedrich Haas’s Seven Soundspaces (Sieben Klangräume). Acclaimed flutist Paula Robison will perform Mozart’s Andante for flute and orchestra to open the program.
Mozart died in 1791 while composing the Requiem. Until recently, audiences have heard Mozart’s masterpiece as filtered through later composers such as Franz Xavier Süssmeyr. Georg Friedrich Haas, a greatly treasured and trusted contemporary composer in Austria, was given complete access to all of Mozart’s manuscripts, and isolated all fragments which were exclusively in Mozart’s handwriting. Audiences will have the rare opportunity to hear all the unedited fragments, including the incomplete and unfinished, without any subsequent completions or orchestrations.
Haas responds to the challenge of how to present these unedited fragments in a concert format by interjecting “soundspaces” between them. These soundspaces use letters of Mozart from 1791 to reveal that during the composition of the Requiem, Mozart was in an intense state of duress and professional difficulty. These “soundspaces” serve as musical transitions between Mozart’s untouched fragments and also to give a picture of what Mozart endured at this time. The “soundspaces” are composed in Haas’s own musical language, with the texts of Mozart’s letters spoken and sung by the choir.

Comments are closed.