Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (LACO) Music Director Jeffrey Kahane takes on dual roles as conductor and pianist in LACO’s orchestral concert “Rhapsody in Blue,” showcasing his considerable jazz chops on piano in Gershwin’s original version of Rhapsody in Blue (1924) on Saturday, December 8, 8 pm, at the Alex Theatre in Glendale, and Sunday, December 9, 7 pm, at UCLA’s Royce Hall.  The distinctive program also features two other works that embrace diverse influences of American culture and smash barriers among orchestral, jazz and folk music – Son of Chamber Symphony written in 2007 by John Adams, who “may be the most vital and eloquent composer in America” (The New Yorker), and the original 1944 version of Copland’s Appalachian Spring Suite – as well as Dvořák’s distinctly Czech-influenced Serenade for Winds, Op. 44, which spotlights LACO’s standout wind section.

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra is considered one of the nation’s premier orchestras as well as a leader in presenting wide-ranging repertoire and adventurous commissions.  Its 2012-13 season, the Orchestra’s 44th, features a compelling mix of beloved masterpieces and genre-defying premieres from firmly established and notable up-and-coming composers programmed by Jeffrey Kahane, one of the world’s foremost conductors and pianists, who marks his 16th season as LACO’s music director.

Tickets ($25 – $110) are on sale now and may be purchased online at laco.org, by calling LACO at 213 622 7001, or at the venue box office on the night of the concert, if tickets remain.  Discounted tickets are also available by phone for seniors 65 years of age and older and groups of 12 or more.  College students may purchase rush tickets one hour before curtain; also available for college students is the $25 “Campus to Concert Hall All Access Pass” – good for all seven of LACO’s Orchestral Series concerts at either the Alex Theatre or UCLA’s Royce Hall, LACO’s Discover Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 4 at Ambassador Auditorium and for all three Westside Connections concerts at The Broad Stage, plus other benefits.

Equally at home at the keyboard or on the podium, JEFFREY KAHANE has established an international reputation as a truly versatile artist, recognized around the world for his mastery of diverse repertoire ranging from Bach, Mozart and Beethoven to Gershwin, Golijov and John Adams. In 2012-13, Kahane enters his 16th season as the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra’s music director. He previously served as music director of the Colorado and Santa Rosa symphonies. He has garnered tremendous critical acclaim for his innovative programming and commitment to education and community involvement and received multiple ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming for his work in both Los Angeles and Denver. In addition to his projects with LACO, he has recently appeared at the Aspen, Mostly Mozart, Blossom, Music@Menlo and Oregon Bach festivals; performed concertos with the Toronto and Houston symphonies; guest conducted the San Francisco, National and Indianapolis symphonies; and play/conducted programs in Europe with the Camerata Salzburg and Hamburg Symphony.

LOS ANGELES CHAMBER ORCHESTRA (LACO), proclaimed “America’s finest chamber orchestra” by Public Radio International, has established itself among the world’s top musical ensembles. Since 1997, LACO has performed under acclaimed conductor and pianist Jeffrey Kahane, hailed by critics as “visionary” and “a conductor of uncommon intellect, insight and musical integrity.”  Under Kahane’s leadership, the Orchestra maintains its status as a preeminent interpreter of historical masterworks and a champion of contemporary composers.  During its 44-year history, the Orchestra has made 30 recordings, toured Europe, South America and Japan, performed across North America and garnered seven ASCAP Awards for Adventurous Programming. LACO presents its Orchestral Series at both the Alex Theatre and Royce Hall, Baroque Conversations at Zipper Hall, Westside Connections chamber music series at The Broad Stage, and an annual Discover concert at Ambassador Auditorium. LACO also presents a Concert Gala, an annual Silent Film screening and several fundraising salons each year. Additionally, LACO’s outreach programs Meet the Music, Community Partners, Campus to Concert Hall and the LACO/USC Thornton Strings Mentorship Program reach thousands of young people annually.


Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

“Rhapsody in Blue”

Jeffrey Kahane, conductor and piano


Dvořák             Serenade for Winds

Copland            Appalachian Spring Suite (original 1944 version for 13-instrument chamber orchestra)

John Adams     Son of Chamber Symphony

Gershwin          Rhapsody in Blue (original 1924 version)

LA Chamber Orchestra's Jeffrey Kahane Conducts Gershwin, Copland, Adams and Dvorak

Comments are closed.