Three Premieres and a Revival

Chamber Orchestra Music by Composers from Mexico and the US

Arthur Berger                                                    Septet

Max Lifchitz                              Yellow Ribbons No. 50

Harold Schiffman                                                Octet

Salvador Torré                                        Abbau-Trace

Max Lifchitz, conductor

The North/South Chamber Orchestra

Sunday, February 17 at 3 PM

Christ & St Stephen’s Church

120 West 69th St (bet Bway & Columbus), NYC

Free Admission. No tickets necessary

Sound Clouds
North/South Consonance, Inc. continues its 33rd consecutive season of free-admission concerts on Sunday afternoon February 17 when the GRAMMY nominated North/South Chamber Orchestra under the direction of its founder Max Lifchitz performs four works by composers from México and the US.


The concert will start at 3 PM and will take place at the auditorium of Christ & St. Stephen’s Church (120 West 69th St – between Broadway and Columbus) on Manhattan’s West Side. Admission is free (no tickets necessary).


The event will commemorate the 100th birthday of Arthur Berger (1912-2003), the influential New York born composer, critic, music analyst, and teacher. Perhaps best known today for his fiery essays in the “Perspectives of New Music” periodical he founded, Berger composed noted works such as the orchestral “Ideas of Order” commissioned for the NY Philharmonic by Dimitri Mitropoulos and the neoclassical “Quartet for Winds”, and who published “Reflections of an American Composer”, a collection of his essays, in 2002.


Berger’s Septet was written in 1966 on commission from the Koussevitzky Music Foundation. It is a superb example of the composer’s “keen and sophisticated musical intellect.”  The work’s instrumental textures are skillfully sketched allowing for a meaningful conversation among the three winds, three strings and keyboard instrument.


The concert will also introduce a new work by Harold Schiffman — the noted American composer celebrating his 85th birthday this season. A student of Roger Sessions, Schiffman taught for many years at Florida State University and has composed in virtually all media. His recently completed Octet consists of three contrasting movements, each exploring a different dance-derived rhythmic motive.


The second half of the program will feature a work for large ensemble by the young Mexican composer and flutist Salvador Torré. A professor at México’s National Conservatory, Torré earned a doctorate at the Sorbonne and has participated in activities sponsored by IRCAM. His work Abbau-Trace concerns itself with spectral phenomena. It was inspired by “….the erasing that happens before that happens…” and other philosophical concepts espoused by the Algeria-born French philosopher Jacques Derrida (1930-2004).


The concert will close with the premiere of Yellow Ribbons No. 50 by Max Lifchitz, the ensemble’s founder and director. Born in 1948 in México City, Lifchitz has resided in New York City since 1966 and attended The Juilliard School and Harvard University. The single movement work is the latest installment in series of compositions Mr. Lifchitz has written as homage to the former American hostages in Iran. The composers considers this compositions as a personal way of celebrating the artistic and political freedom so often taken for granted in the West. Recent tragic events in New York City and elsewhere convinced the composer that continuing to work on this series begun in the early 1980’s was both appropriate and worthwhile.


North/South Consonance’s 2012-13 season is made possible in part with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs; grants from the Arthur Berger Fund and the Music Performance Trust Funds; as well as contributions by many generous individuals.


For further information about North/South Consonance’s activities, including concerts and recordings, please visit




Comments are closed.