Time and Space

Music by Composers from Canada and the US

featuring NY premieres of works by




Zosha Di Castri, Daniel Kessner,

Mei-Fang Lin, Jonathan Russell


The North/South Consonance Ensemble

Max Lifchitz, conductor


Thursday, June 6 at 8 PM

Christ & St Stephen’s Church

120 West 69th St (bet Bway & Columbus), NYC
Free Admission. No tickets necessary
North/South Consonance, Inc. continues its 33rd consecutive season of free-admission concerts on Thursday evening June 6 when the acclaimed North/South Consonance Ensemble under the direction of its founder Max Lifchitz performs for the first time in New York City four works by composers from Canada and the US.
The concert will start at 8 PM and will take place at the auditorium of Christ & St. Stephen’s Church (120 West 69th St) in Manhattan. Admission is free. No tickets needed.
The featured composers are Zosha Di Castri, Daniel Kessner, Mei-Fang Lin and Jonathan Russell. They are expected to be present and will introduce their music to the audience.
Zosha Di Castri

Zosha Di Castri

Originally from Canada, Zosha Di Castri was educated at McGill University in Montreal and Columbia University in New York City. She was named a laureate of the 3rd International Composer’s Competition for the Hamburger Klangwerktage Festival, won two SOCAN Foundation awards for her chamber music in 2011, and in 2012, tied for the John Weinzweig Grand Prize for her orchestra piece Alba. Inspired by Alexander Calder’s mobile sculptures, Di Castri’s work La forma dello spazio borrows its title from a short story by the Italian writer Italo Calvino named “The Form of Space.” She writes that “….I wanted to create a composition in which musical gestures appear to be fairly static, yet are permitted a certain flexibility to move freely within a given space. The performers are dispersed around the hall so that their sounds will revolve around the audience.”

A native of Los Angeles, Daniel Kessner is active as composer, flutist and conductor. He taught at

Daniel Kessner

Daniel Kessner

CaliforniaStateUniversity, Northridge for over thirty years. His many awards include the Queen Marie-José International Composition Prize in Geneva, 1972; a 2003 Fulbright Senior Scholar Award to lecture and perform at the Musikhochschule in Trossingen, Germany, a Fulbright Senior Specialist Grant to perform and lecture in Trondheim, Norway in 2007; and a second Specialist Grant for a residency at the Universidade do Minho in Portugal in 2011. His highly virtuosic work A Tempo, is a single-movement composition predominantly in fast tempos, and with a free, rhapsodic form. It provides the players with ample opportunity to shine as soloists.

Mei Fang Lin
Mei Fang Lin

Mei Fang Lin

Born in Taiwan, Mei-Fang Lin earned her doctorate at the University of California, Berkeley and also participated in the one-year computer music course “Cursus de Composition” at IRCAM in Paris. Her works have been performed internationally and have won many awards, including those from the American Composers Forum, the Seoul International Competition for Composers, the Bourges Competition, the Pierre Schaeffer Competition, the Luigi Russolo Competition, and the Taipei Composition Competition. She has been teaching at Texas Tech University since 2009. Inspiration for her L’image reconstituée came from the acoustic phenomena of sound waves and the physical nature of ocean waves.  The composer writes that “….as if to simulate the ebbs and flows of the ocean, individual notes that form the generating chords of the piece each oscillates at specific given interval in its own speed, resulting in musical textures that resemble sonic ocean of waves.”

Hailed as “incredibly virtuosic, rocking, and musical” by San Francisco’s Classical Voice Jonathan Russell attended

Jonathan Russell

Jonathan Russell

Harvard University, the San Francisco Conservatory and Princeton University. Russell is Co-Director of San Francisco’s Switchboard Music Festival and is also an active member of the Sqwonk bass clarinet quartet. His Sextet is based around a groovy bass line that began as a whimsical exercise and evolved into a dramatic, post-minimalist wide-ranging work.

The performers for the evening include flutist Lisa Hansen; clarinetist Richard Goldsmith; violinist Claudia Schaer; cellist Marisol Espada; pianist Helen Lin; and percussionist Samuel Budish.
The composers and performers are available for interviews and other media events and may be contacted through the North/South Consonance office at ns.concerts@att.net
 North/South Consonance’s 2012-13 season is made possible in part with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs; grants from the Arthur Berger Fund and the Music Performance Trust Funds; as well as contributions by many generous individuals.
 For further information about North/South Consonance’s activities, including concerts and recordings, please visit http://www.northsouthmusic.org.

Comments are closed.