David Rubenstein Atrium at Lincoln Center, NYC

Collegium Novum by Susan Schimert-SMALL

A fixture of the Swiss music scene since 1993, the 20-piece new music ensemble Collegium Novum Zurich makes its U.S. debut at the David Rubenstein Atrium at Lincoln Center, performing over short silent film masterpieces. The evening will feature original and new soundtracks to Dada classics, some of Hanns Eisler’s best documentary scores, and the U.S. premiere of Iris ter Schiphorst’s composition for the American avant-garde film of Edgar Allan Poe’s story, The Fall of the House of Usher.

David Rubenstein Atrium at Lincoln Center is located on Broadway between 62nd and 63rd Streets. Admission is free. RSVP required:


Jörg Schneider, trumpet
Jonathan Stockhammer, conductor

Carola Bauckholt: Ghosts Before Breakfast (2008)
Film by Hans Richter (1928)

Iris ter Schiphorst: The Fall of the House of Usher (2014) U.S. Premiere
Film by James Sibley Watson, Jr. and Melville Webber (1928)

Erik Satie: Entr’acte cinématographique (1924), arr. by Andrew Digby (2007)
Film by René Clair (1924)

Hanns Eisler: Fourteen Ways of Describing the Rain, Op. 70 (1941)
For the film Rain by legendary Dutch director Joris Ivens (1929)

Hanns Eisler: Chamber Symphony, Op. 69 (1940)
For the film White Flood (1940, Frontier Films)

Collegium Novum Zurich: Live Music & Silent Films is presented by Zürich Meets New York: A Festival of Swiss Ingenuity, highlighting the contemporary relevance of visionary movements and ideas born in Zurich and their impact on American culture. Building on the upcoming 100th anniversary of the Dada movement and Zurich’s role as a 21st-century hub for artistic and scientific innovation, the festival features 25 events at venues across the city, and is presented by the Consulate General of Switzerland in New York, the City of Zurich, ETH Zurich and the University of Zurich (UZH).

Comments are closed.