Monday – League of Composers at Miller Theatre


Leon Kirchner

Leon Kirchner


Last week, I learned that I have been elected to the Board of Directors of the League of Composers – ISCM. I am honored and excited to be working with this organization. Thus, what follows is some cheering for the “home team.”


On Monday, June 17, the League’s finishes its 90th season with an orchestra concert at Miller Theatre. The program includes premieres of two works commissioned by the organization. Keith Fitch’s In Memory is written in memory of Frederick Fox, with whom Fitch studied at Indiana University. Wang Jie’s Oboe Concerto for the Genuine Heats of Sadness, which is co-commissioned by the Koussevitsky Foundation and Aspen Festival, is written for the extraordinary oboist Liang Wang. This past year, I’ve heard Wang assay the stratospheric tessitura of Poul Ruders’ concerto and the beautiful Oboe Quartet by Sean Shepherd; I’m eager to hear what he does with Wang Jie’s work.  Recent pieces by Eve Beglarian and Bruce Adolphe will also be performed.


Commemorating longtime League member Elliott Carter, who passed away last year, the concert includes his brief fanfare Call. Highlighting the work of another recently deceased elder statesman, the concert will conclude with Leon Kirchner’s Suite from Lily. There will be an onstage discussion of Kirchner’s life and work.

Having just recently finished editing the entry on Kirchner for the forthcoming new edition of Grove’s Dictionary of American Music, I am particularly keen to hear this work live!


Event Details

League of Composers Season Finale

Monday, June 17 at 8 PM

Miller Theatre


Hosted by John Schaefer, WNYC
Orchestra of the League of Composers

James Baker, Louis Karchin, conductors; Liang Wang, oboe;

Sharon Harms, soprano



Bruce Adolphe                Crossing Broadway (2007)
Eve Beglarian                   Waiting for Billy Floyd (2010)
Wang Jie *                       Oboe Concerto for the Genuine Hearts of Sadness (2013)
Elliott Carter                     Call (2003)
Keith Fitch*                      In Memory (2013)
Leon Kirchner                  Lily, version for Soprano and Chamber Ensemble (1978)

* World premiere, League-ISCM commission

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>