"There are no two points so distant from one another that they cannot be connected by a single straight line -- and an infinite number of curves."

Composer Lawrence Dillon has produced an extensive body of work, from brief solo pieces to a full-length opera. Three disks of his music are due out in 2010 on the Bridge, Albany and Naxos labels. In the past year, he has had commissions from the Emerson String Quartet, the Cassatt String Quartet, the Mansfield Symphony, the Boise Philharmonic, the Salt Lake City Symphony, the Ravinia Festival, the Daedalus String Quartet, the Kenan Institute for the Arts, the University of Utah and the Idyllwild Symphony Orchestra.

Although he lost 50% of his hearing in a childhood illness, Dillon began composing as soon as he started piano lessons at the age of seven. In 1985, he became the youngest composer to earn a doctorate at The Juilliard School, and was shortly thereafter appointed to the Juilliard faculty. Dillon is now Composer in Residence at the University of North Carolina School of the Arts, where he has served as Music Director of the Contemporary Ensemble, Assistant Dean of Performance, and Interim Dean of the School of Music. He was the Featured American Composer in the February 2006 issue of Chamber Music magazine.

Visit Lawrence Dillon's Web Site

Blogs I Like

Saturday, April 26, 2008

We have our end-of-the-year student composers’ concert tonight. Here’s the program:

Music for 8 (2008) Joseph Edwards (b. 1981)

Annalise Stalls, soprano saxophone Joey Trahan, alto saxophone Travis Calvert, tenor saxophone Ryan Lemoine, baritone saxophone Shawn Marcinowski, percussion Scott O’Toole, percussion Nate Tucker, percussion Kyle Duppstadt, percussion

To the Thawing Wind (2007) Leo Hurley (b. 1989)

Brian Ford, violin Ian Livingston, violin Laura Manko, viola Devree Lewis, cello

The Rebotco Encounter (2007) Jesse Blair (b. 1981)

Catherine Tsao, flute Michal Rogalski, oboe Allison Bates, clarinet Robert Perkins, baritone saxophone

A Man of Twists and Turns (2008) Gregory Miles Hoffman (b. 1971)

Brian Ford, violin Ian Livingston, violin Laura Manko, viola Devree Lewis, cello

Lullaby Dreams (2007) Leo Hurley (b. 1989)
Catherine Tsao, alto flute Michal Rogalski, oboe Allison Bates, clarinet Robert Perkins, baritone saxophone

Undertones (2006) Jesse Blair (b. 1981)

Yi-Wen Hsieh, violin Matt Darsey, viola Joy Keown, cello Darrelle Green, bass

Music for Trombone (2008) Lucas Hausrath (b. 1987)

Geoffrey Seelen, trombone

Mafioso Waltz (2008) Michael Ahrens (b. 1972)

Katherine Mount, violin Jesse McAdoo, cello Qiudi Zhang, clarinet John Kossler, guitar Travis Horton, piano

Open Spaces in Compact Places (2008) Lucas Hausrath (b. 1987)

Talya Liebermann, trumpet Samuel Davis-Castro, trumpet Jennifer Weaver, horn Thomas Aaro, trombone Geoff Seelen, trombone

In this silence (2008) Joseph Edwards (b. 1981)

VIOLIN I Brian Ford Yi-Wen Hsieh Leigh Wallenhaupt Alexa Skillicorn
Katherine Mount Ian Livingston
Laura Manko Matt Darsey Elizabeth Moore
Devree Lewis Jesse McAdoo Jessica Tirpak
Darrelle Green Christian Gray
Julie Hammarback
Caleb Hoffman

Organizing all of these bodies to show up in all of the right places for rehearsals has been one of the great pleasures and great challenges of my week. I’ve also learned, day before yesterday, that I will be conducting one of the pieces. Dress rehearsal starts in three hours. I think it’s going to be one of the best student composer concerts we’ve done here – some very ambitious pieces, a lot of deeply committed performers.