Animal Collective: “Today’s Supernatural” (Video)

The video for “Today’s Supernatural,” a song from Animal Collective’s new recording Centipede Hz is, in many ways, reflective of the impressions one takes away from the LP itself. Boisterous, colorful, busily attired, kaleidoscopically varied, and dizzying in the juxtaposition of its gestural and stylistic vocabularies, Centipede Hz is both a confirmation of the long term overarching trajectory of Animal Collective’s music making and an upping of the ante of indie pop’s penchant for postmodern juxtaposition.

If 2009′s  Merriweather Post Pavillion was Animal Collective’s dalliance with the indie mainstream,  Centipede Hz finds them back in more musically challenging environs. Whether the band will continue further down this pathway of experimentation, or instead return to the (relatively speaking) more pop functional language found on Merriweather Post Pavilion, Animal Collective seems destined in the future to find still more ways to surprise its listeners.

Centipede Hz is available now via Domino Records.

Toro Y Moi: “Rose Quartz” Live at Lollapalooza (Video)

Toro Y Moi’s set yesterday at Lollapalooza 2012 included five new songs.

The video for one of them, “Rose Quartz,” is below.

The band is touring in August and September (dates below).

Toro Y Moi- Touring schedule
8/26 – Brooklyn, NY – Afropunk Festival
9/26 – Durham, NC – Motorco Music Hall
9/27 – Asheville, NC – Orange Peel *
9/28 – Charleston, SC – Music Farm *
9/29 – Fairburn, GA – Counterpoint Music Festival
10/13 – San Francisco, CA – Treasure Island Music Festival

* = w/ The Choir Quit, Can’t Kids

Blues Control: “Walking Robin” (Video; Tour Dates)

Queens duo Blues Control begins their US tour tonight (Dates below).

They also have a new video out for the album track “Walking Robin,” from their new LP Valley Tangents (Drag City).

Video by Clémence Hébert.

Blues Control Tour Dates (new dates in bold)

Wed. July 25 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Gooski’s

Thu. July 26 – Louisville, KY @ The Cat House

Fri. July 27 – Chicago, IL @ The Hideout

Sat. July 28 – Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups

Sun. July 29 – Cleveland, OH @ Happy Dog

Mon. July 30 – Rochester, NY @ The Bug Jar

Tue. July 31 – Toronto, ON @ The Shop at Parts & Labour

Wed. Aug. 1 – Montreal, QC @ Il Motore

Thu. Aug. 2 – Burlington, VT @ Monkey House

Fri. Aug. 3 – Allston, MA @ O’Brien’s Pub

Sat. Aug. 4 – Hoboken, NY @ Maxwell’s (with Chain & The Gang)

Sat. Aug. 11 – Philadelphia, PA @ Kensington Picnic (with Meg Baird)

Sun. Aug. 26 – Emmaus, PA @ Emmaus Farmers’ Market

Sun. Sept. 9 – Rock Island, IL @ Rozz Tox

Tue. Sept. 11 – Lexington, KY @ Void

Thu. Sept. 13 – Atlanta, GA @ 529

Fri. Sept. 14 – Durham, NC @ Duke University Coffeehouse

Sat. Sept. 15 – Greensboro, NC @ CFBG’s

Squackett: “Can’t Stop the Rain” (Video)

Guitarist Steve Hackett (who, in addition to an active solo career, is known for his work in Genesis and GTR), bassist Chris Squire (Yes), and keyboardist/producer Roger King recently released their first recorded collaboration, Squackett, via Cherry Red. This all-star prog summit is a dream come true for longtime fans of the aforementioned bands. It features sharp songwriting, supple harmonized vocals, and deft guitar work.

Check out a video for album track “Can’t Stop the Rain” below.